खबर लहरिया Blog Khabar Lahariya Honoured with the Commonwealth Press Union’s Astor Award

Khabar Lahariya Honoured with the Commonwealth Press Union’s Astor Award


                       Meera Devi, Managing Editor of Khabar Lahariya, and Pooja  Pande, Co-CEO of Chambal Media

The Commonwealth Press Union (CPU) Media Trust’s Astor Award – one of the  most prestigious and oldest press media freedom awards in the world, first  presented in 1970 – has been presented this year to Khabar Lahariya. The Award honours our contribution to media  freedom and investigative journalism, and commitment to diversity and equality.  


                                                              Meera Devi, Managing Editor of Khabar Lahariya

Speaking at a reception in the House of Lords – where the Award was presented by  the Rt Hon Sir John Whittingdale, MP, Minister of State for Media – CPU Chairman  Lord Black of Brentwood said: “Our Trustees have this year decided unanimously  to present the prestigious Astor Award to Khabar Lahariya in view of their  exceptional contribution to media freedom, promoting independent quality  journalism, championing diversity, and ground-breaking investigative reporting in  often difficult and complex circumstances. They are worthy winners and we  congratulate them.”  


Receiving the Award, Meera Devi, Managing Editor of Khabar Lahariya, and Pooja  Pande, Co-CEO of Chambal Media, parent company of Khabar Lahariya said:

“We’ve been  fighting the good fight for under-represented voices since our inception in the early  2000s, because we strongly believe in the power of the word changing the world. While the journey itself is the greatest reward, a mighty recognition like the Astor  Award really motivates us to continue doing the work, fighting the good fight.  We’re very grateful to the CPU Media Trust for this honour.”  

We are deeply honoured by this recognition and extend our heartfelt gratitude to the Commonwealth Press Union (CPU) Media Trust for this prestigious award. For further details, please find the official press release here.

About The Astor Award

The Astor Award, established in memory of Lord Astor of Hever, former President of the Commonwealth Press Union, is one of the oldest and most distinguished press freedom awards. Previous winners represent a remarkable cross-section of individuals who have made an enormous contribution to the Commonwealth newspaper industry, particularly in the field of press freedom. In recent years the Astor Award has been awarded posthumously to Daphne  Caruana Galizia, assassinated in Malta, to the Pakistan Press Foundation and  to the Human Rights Network in Uganda. Previous winners From India include CR Irani, Arun Shourie and Kuldip Nayar. A full list of previous winners can be found here.

About Khabar Lahariya

Khabar Lahariya is India’s only women-run independent rural news network, bringing  hard-hitting and powerful investigative journalism, human interest stories, and  vibrant cultural and entertainment content from the country’s remote areas with  little access to news. Starting as a print newspaper in 2002, with hyperlocal content and stories often written from a feminist perspective for a rural and semi-rural  audience, today has a network of 25 female reporters across six states in north India and a monthly viewership of up to 20 million.  

Follow us on YouTube | Instagram | X | LinkedIn


Read this press release in Hindi here


‘यदि आप हमको सपोर्ट करना चाहते है तो हमारी ग्रामीण नारीवादी स्वतंत्र पत्रकारिता का समर्थन करें और हमारे प्रोडक्ट KL हटके का सब्सक्रिप्शन लें’

If you want to support our rural fearless feminist Journalism, subscribe to our  premium product KL Hatke